March 26: Thesis Proposal PROCESS IN SP14-WEEK 9

My recent trajectory for thesis:

-Meet LED expert:

Yesterday, I met my friend Michael who work in ESI Design Company in New York as well as one of faculty in NYU-ITP, teaching Creative LED Display in Public Art. He give me many practical suggestions about how to construct a soft and beautiful LED wall. How can I mix the LED light color and make them diffuse soft light like my inspiration picture. He ask me to purchase some stuff and make many test by them. I already order them, but I have not got them yet so far. I will list them here.

1. LED

ImageImageImage

 

2.And then, I need to buy a kinda special fabric or luminous textile to cover the LED wall in order to make light diffuse and soft.

Image

16’6″ Supersilk, White, IFR

3. I can project the text content to this white textile/surface by projector.

 

-Jim Campbell’s exhibition

He inspired me a lot. He concerns about low resolution vision and time, and uses LED as his main material. In addition, his work is very beautiful and poetic. I love them, I feel surprise when I read each one, although they are not extreme high-tech interactive work. I think that is high level of artwork that he hide technology part and explore more meaning beyond it.

Image

IMG_1774 IMG_1782 IMG_1804 IMG_1845

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

-Visual Content that I really concern about and always draw me in

San Francisco:

Last week, I went to San Francisco, and I really love there. I felt natural landscape inspired me a lot. Human and nature originally have a very intimate distance,space and relationship, but due to some reasons about pollution or development thing, we can’t see beautiful landscape that often or we lost it forever in somehow. …(sth happened in my country)

屏幕快照 2014-03-27 下午2.08.07 1

 

 

 

 

 

Beijing haze:

It’s too sad for me. I feel like this is my homeland, but I can’t come back. And I know how it beautiful normally. 
1.-AP-150113-China-e1358225371269
Cars-run-on-an-elevated-road-as-buildings-in-the-background-are-covered-in-haze-Beijing-China-Jan.-15-2013.-A-succession-of-heavily-polluted-days-hit-Beijing-prompting-the-government-to-issue-a-first-ever-orange-warning.-Heav-960x640

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My Process:

Therefore, in the end of spring break, I generate my new idea about thesis. I found I still concern about landscape, and this topic is related contemporary society more.

3D space_00054 3D space_200096 3D space_300138 3D space_400176 3D space_500217 3D space_800249

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I will make an audiovisual installation in gallery space, and the interactive process depends on the distance between audience and installation. The distance is kind of a metaphor of human and nature. When they walk more and more near, the visual part will change from in term of color, resolution as well.

References that I really like:

http://www.skyspace.se/visit/

屏幕快照 2014-03-27 下午3.00.25

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Related materials or tech:

GPS to get the Beijing Haze Sky Picture?

Real-time video.

normal method to get video. (as a pollution dairy from now that I capture from Google everyday?)

IMG_0362

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

LCD Screens by an Artist.

Yorgo Alexopoulos

http://www.yorgo.org

Note: I showed it because I really like this form, because it look like landscape is